Monday, November 30, 2009

Contenders for BBC Sports Personality award revealed

Sports Personality of the Year
: Sheffield Arena Date: Sunday, 13 December Time: 1900 GMT Coverage: Live on BBC One, BBC Radio 5 live & BBC Sport website.
The BBC Sports Personality of the Year top-10 shortlist has been revealed.
It features Formula One champion Jenson Button, cycling star Mark Cavendish, world champion diver Tom Daley and Manchester United great Ryan Giggs.
Athletics is represented by two more world champions, heptathlete Jessica Ennis and triple jumper Phillips Idowu.
Heavyweight boxer David Haye, England cricket captain Andrew Strauss, tennis ace Andy Murray and world gymnastics champion Beth Tweddle make up the 10.
The 10 nominees will be put to a public vote on the night of the live show, which will be broadcast from Sheffield Arena at 1900 GMT, Sunday 13 December on BBC One.
The public will be able to vote for their BBC Sports Personality of the Year by telephone and details of the numbers to phone will be given out during the programme which will be presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Jake Humphrey.
Before the big event there will be an Inside Sport preview show this Wednesday, 2 December, at 2245 GMT on BBC One.
All the contenders made a big impact in the sporting arena this year.
Button won six of the season's first seven grands prix and held on to his lead to become Britain's 10th F1 world champion, while on two wheels Cavendish became the first Briton to win six stages in one Tour de France.
Sheffield's Ennis swept aside the opposition to win the heptathlon at the World Athletics Championships in Berlin, where Idowu finally realised his full potential by taking triple jump gold.
Another first-time world champion was 15-year-old Daley, who won the 10m platform event in Rome, while Tweddle tumbled her way to World Championship gold in the floor event at London's O2 Arena.
Tennis star Murray continued where he left off in 2008, reaching a career-high ranking of two at one point in a year where he won six tournaments including two Masters events.
Strauss led from the front to finish as leading run-scorer as England reclaimed the Ashes, while Giggs, who turned 36 on Sunday, was crowned the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year as he won his 11th Premier League title with Manchester United.
The shortlist was put together by a panel of 26 sports editors from national and regional newspapers and magazines.
Carl Doran, editor of Sports Personality of the Year, said: "I think you'll agree it's an outstanding list and underlines what an exceptional year it has been for British sport.
"Overall there are nine sports represented and for the first time since Steven Gerrard in 2005 we have a footballer on the list in Ryan Giggs.
"You only have to look at those who just missed out like Bradley Wiggins, Victoria Pendleton, Tony McCoy and Andrew Flintoff to see how strong the line-up it is. British sport is in tremendous shape as we get closer to the 2012 Olympics."

He added: "We've our best ever line-up and some amazing surprises for our biggest ever show in front of 11,000 people at the Sheffield Arena.
"We have some very special awards that are likely to bring the house down, in particular our Lifetime Achievement Award which will honour a true world superstar.
"There'll also be live performances, surprise appearances and the greatest collection of sporting talent you're likely to see in one place. Not forgetting one of the closest races for the main award for years."
Barbara Slater, director of BBC Sport, said: "The reaction of viewers and those members of the public who have been able to attend the event in the last three years has been fantastic and we hope this year in Sheffield will continue that trend.
"It's been another great year of sport and the event promises to be another show to remember.
"It's a tremendous cast list and a great experience for the audience in the venue, and we hope this year will be a classic."
Last year's event at Liverpool's Echo Arena was watched by a television audience of 9.8m, with triple Olympic cycling gold medallist Chris Hoy beating Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton and double Olympic gold medal-winning swimmer Rebecca Adlington to the honour.
The other awards to be presented on the night will include:
- Team of the Year
- Coach of the Year
- Overseas Personality
- Young Personality
- Helen Rollason Award
- Unsung Hero Award
- Lifetime Achievement
Watch a full preview of this year's top 10 on Sports Personality of the Year: The Contenders, BBC One, Wednesday 2 December 2245 GMT Read More......


Post a Comment

Copyright (c)onine sports news | hot chicks and beer sexist Blog Page : ipl cheer girls